Internationally acclaimed story coach

Barbara has mentored award-winning authors and debut novelists like these. A manuscript evaluation with her will help you get your book into top shape for submission to agents and publishers.
Learn More

Coming November 1st


“Brings alive almost every tough issue a writer of fiction must face… friendly and fun to read.” – Al Zuckerman, Founder of Writers House Literary Agency.

PAGE TURNER_smallbanner 3

Events and Appearances

22-23 October 2016
Guelph, ON
Master Class: Your First 30 Pages
* Space is limited, so register early!

19 November 2016
Whitby, ON
FREE workshop: “Your Path to Creating a Page-Turner”

9 September 2017
Toronto, ON
Toronto Romance Writers
(RWA official chapter)
Master Class: Scene Stealers: Secrets to Structuring Powerful Scenes

Grow as a writer. Dare to succeed.

Manuscript Evaluations

A manuscript evaluation is an in-depth, developmental editing report. I provide a “big picture” deep analysis of your story, examining its premise, structure, character development, voice, dialogue, setting, prose style, pacing, POV (point of view), and marketability. I also offer suggestions on how any weaknesses might be improved.

“My Writers” and Their Success

Through my manuscript evaluations and master classes, I’ve had the pleasure of launching many writers on the path toward published success.

“...Working with Barbara is like having a secret weapon in your writing arsenal.”

Nancy Raven Smith, author of Land Sharks

“Barbara Kyle is a master storyteller, and she’s especially gifted at helping writers see what’s still missing in their work.”

MaryAnn McGuigan, author of Crossing to Brooklyn

“You assess writing with extraordinary clarity. Thank you very much.”

— Barbara Wade Rose, award-winning writer for the Globe and Mail and the New York Times

“A huge thank you for the feedback on my novel…It truly has been that light bulb moment.”

Anne Shillolo

Mary Ann McGuigan is the author of award-winning young adult novels, including Crossing Into Brooklyn. I helped her get her first adult novel into top shape, and the result won her representation by legendary agent Al Zuckerman of Writers House, New York.

“Thank you again for all your help. I sing your praises to all writers.” — Mary Ann McGuigan


Robert Rotenberg, a criminal lawyer based in Toronto, is the author of four acclaimed mystery novels. His latest is Stranglehold.

“I took Barbara Kyle’s excellent Master Class when I was stuck with my first novel. I’ve recently finished my fourth book, and Barbara’s wise words constantly guide my way.” – Robert Rotenberg


Marissa Campbell attended one of my Master Classes to hone her first novel, Avelynn. It was published by St. Martin’s Press in 2015, and the sequel, The Edge of Faith, in 2016.

“Barbara, I took your advice and loved the result.” — Marissa Campbell


Have Your Manuscript Evaluated

Working with you as your story coach, I’ll show you what you need to do to focus, tighten, and enrich your book.

I have mentored writers at every level – award-winning authors and debut novelists – and in many genres: mysteries, thrillers, romances, fantasy, literary novels, young adult fiction, narrative nonfiction, and memoirs.

It will be my pleasure to help you.

Learn More

Workshops via Skype

I enjoy connecting with writers groups across North America and in the UK to give workshops via Skype. It’s a great way to interact, though we may be far apart.

If you belong to a writers group and would like to book a workshop via Skype for your meeting, just email me at and we can discuss scheduling. I’m now booking for January-March 2017.

The cost to the group for a 45-minute workshop + 15-minute Q&A session is just $150.

For details on how it all works, see the “Workshops” page.

A complex and fast-paced plot mixing history with vibrant characters

Publishers Weekly on The King’s Daughter


Meticulous research...perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory on The Queen’s Lady

An all-action thriller bringing to life the passion and perils of the Tudor period

Lancashire Evening Post on The King’s Daughter

Kyle is a master at her craft

RT Book Reviews on the Queen’s Exiles
Barbara Kyle

Barbara Kyle is the author of seven acclaimed historical novels – the Thornleigh Saga series – all published internationally, and of contemporary thrillers, three under pen-name Stephen Kyle, including Beyond Recall, a Literary Guild Selection. Her latest novel is The Traitor's Daughter. Over 500,000 copies of her books have been sold in seven countries. Barbara has taught writers at the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies and is a popular guest presenter at writers' conferences. Before becoming an author Barbara enjoyed a twenty-year acting career in television, film, and stage productions in Canada and the U.S.

Barbara’s workshops, master classes, and manuscript evaluations have launched many writers to published success, including bestselling mystery author Robert Rotenberg, historical novelists Ann Birch, Tom Taylor, and Barbara Wade Rose, debut novelist Marissa Campbell, thriller writer Carrie Rubin, and Steven T. Wax for his award-winning memoir.